Author Topic: How did you remap the missing windows key?  (Read 2839 times)

Offline emisar

How did you remap the missing windows key?
« on: Wed, 01 July 2020, 06:02:13 »
Hey guys I'm a new member, long time lurker.
I am looking into this keyboard kit right now: https://kbdfans.com/collections/maja/products/coming-soon-vulcan-x-kbdfans-maja-mechanical-keyboard-diy-kit
But I use linux with awesomeWM and my modkey is currently set to the winkey on my Anne Pro 2 and I use it for more than 50 shortcuts.
Nonetheless as so many others, I am in love with the Alice layout. Can you tell me how you remapped the windows key or what else I can do to live without it.

Also, is the link above the only option for an Alice style keyboard kit right now? I'm a newbie to customs, only had retail mechs before and I'm using the Anne Pro 2 currently.

Thanks

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
Re: How did you remap the missing windows key?
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 02 July 2020, 04:53:17 »
Linux made a change that makes it a bit more difficult to remap keys (it reverts each update), may want to check the D.E. and see if it provides an easier method, I know KDE and Cinnamon do. Otherwise you need to a script to keep remapping on boot. I'm also not sure what key you would swap it to, alt most likely.

Since the board runs QMK, if you want to get REALLY into it, you could actually remove that block off plate and add the extra switch but that's pretty hardcore to do.
You also may want to look around, there is a LOT of ergo options at the moment through smaller sellers. A dig through QMK's list gives a bunch, find where one is sold and you start turning up more and more of them. Right now it's probably the most common use of QMK and easiest keyboard to get as mainstream stuff is sold out at the moment. https://www.littlekeyboards.com is a good start. I'm not trying to talk you out of this, just offering options that may or may not work better for you.
Novelkeys NK65AE w/62g Zilents/39g springs