Author Topic: Simple keycap tactile mod?  (Read 3753 times)

Offline Fahall

Simple keycap tactile mod?
« on: Wed, 14 December 2016, 15:34:24 »
Hey folks,

I just received an Ergodox EZ. I plan to post a review after I have been using it for a few months, but I do want to make a slight 'mod' to it now. I notice that my hands have not found their 'comfy' spot with the keyboard yet, so the position of my thumbs relative to the thumbcluster is unreliable. This results in incorrect keypresses on the two long thumbcluster keys.

What I want to do is find an easy, inexpensive, & non-damaging way to create tactile differentiation between the keys. My first thought is to use little stickers. This might work, but I thought maybe some of you have solved this problem before.

Any thoughts?

Offline Phenix

Re: Simple keycap tactile mod?
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 16 December 2016, 15:12:18 »
o-rings could work (for differenciation, as some will shorten their travel - maybe use 2-4 rings per key)
Winter is coming.

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
« Reply #2 on: Fri, 16 December 2016, 15:23:30 »
You could change the bottoming point with O-rings or the spring pressure using something under the keys (sponge?), but as far as tactility I can't see how you will change that without a switch change or some serious engineering and access to a resin printer or a cnc mill. At which point it's probably easier  to just swap the switch.
Novelkeys NK65AE w/62g Zilents/39g springs
More
62g Zilents/lubed/Novelkeys 39g springs, HK Gaming Thick PBT caps, Netdot Gen10 magnetic cable, pic
| Filco MJ2 L.E. Vortex Case, Jailhouse Blues, heavily customized
More
Vortex case squared up/blasted finish removed/custom feet/paint/winkey blockoff plate, HID Liberator, stainless steel universal plate, 3d printed adapters, Type C, Netdot Gen10 magnetic cable, foam sound dampened, HK Gaming Thick PBT caps (o-ringed), Cherry Jailhouse Blues w/lubed/clipped Cherry light springs, 40g actuation
| GMMK TKL
More