Author Topic: Favorite chair  (Read 4267 times)

Offline typo

Favorite chair
« on: Fri, 13 January 2017, 00:12:48 »
I just wanted to tell you guys I finally found a great chair. I am very large. Really too big for the Embody and was never comfortable. Then I used an Eames for a long time but it is really a lounge chair. Not an office chair. So finally about 8 months ago I went to an office liquidation auction. I got a Hon Resolution mid back in Suede for $150. It is not actualy a big mans chair but it is a 24 hour chair. Has adjustments galore. This was a $3,800 chair.  in fabric it was more like $1,300. now I can kick myself(or sell) my miller chairs. The Embody is a great chair. I am just too big for it. Forget new Hon chairs they are pure junk. Finally I am comfortable 14 hours a day coding. I cannot say if it offers proper ergonomics because I am not a Doctor. I can say I am now very comfortable. The Embody was pinching me of course. The Eames was making my butt go numb. I can't believe I spent that on miller chairs and got my best one for $150. Of course had I bought it new it was nearly 4 grand. It was delivered virtually unused. This is probably a very good chair to find used for a real big guy. It is only rated 300# but hon told me it will hold 800# no problem. No, I do not weigh 800# lol.

Offline tp4tissue

• * Destiny Supporter
  • OmniExpert of: Rice, Top-Ramen, Ergodox, n Females
Re: Favorite chair
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 13 January 2017, 05:49:13 »
I used to get stressed out about chairs.

Then I started incorporating standing computer use into my puter' routine..

And,  Now, my back doesn't hurt anymore..

Remember going from those 12" crts  to the first 17" lcd..

The difference is that large..

A better chair helps.. but nothing can change the fact that hip rotation while seated puts the lower spine out of alignment...  it's only a matter of time before the pain sets in..    Now give it a few years, get fat,  soon enough you're in a wheel chair...