Author Topic: What is the purpose of sculpted keycaps?  (Read 27970 times)

Offline TuxForLife

What is the purpose of sculpted keycaps?
« on: Tue, 08 March 2016, 17:30:00 »
Hi everyone, semi-noob here. I have tried pretty hard researching this question, but never really found a solid answer.

Sculpted keys seem like an inconvenience when trying to pimp out a keyboard with multi-color keycaps, as I have to get different heights for each row (R1, R2, etc.)

Is this inconvenience worth it?
I am currently using sculpted keycaps as a matter of fact with my CM Quickfire Rapid, but I don't seem to notice the benefits of the sculpted keycaps, any opinions would be great to listen to, thanks!

I'm hoping to get an Ergodox EZ in April, and I'm trying to prepare for everything. I can't wait to get my literal hands on one!

Offline Pdub

Re: What is the purpose of sculpted keycaps?
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 08 March 2016, 17:30:57 »
They are used to accent a keyboard and it is art.

Offline hashbaz

• Grand Ancient One
  • * Moderator Emeritus
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 08 March 2016, 17:31:31 »
Ease of typing. I believe the idea is to counteract the distance the fingers have to stretch to reach each row.

Offline NiceAndCreamy

« Reply #3 on: Tue, 08 March 2016, 17:33:10 »
It's mainly just preference/ease of use. For boards like the Ergodox or the Planck it's much easier to have a bunch of uniform keys so you can lay it out however you'd like. Some people also just prefer the feel of uniform key caps. I for one prefer sculpted because it gives the keys a little extra slant.

Offline TuxForLife

« Reply #4 on: Tue, 08 March 2016, 17:40:33 »
They are used to accent a keyboard and it is art.

Really? O.o

Ease of typing. I believe the idea is to counteract the distance the fingers have to stretch to reach each row.

That's what I was certain it was for, but do you believe that difference is noticeable and worth it?