Author Topic: Designing my own keyboard from scratch, how would I attempt this?  (Read 2863 times)

Offline Gioedw

Hey guys!

I've had the idea of designing my own 65% mechanical keyboard from "scratch" ever since I got into keebs, but I have little to no knowledge on PCB and Case making.
I can't seem to find any guides on how to make my own PCB, or if not - whether there are any 65% open source PCB's I can map my case around.

I have AutoCAD 2020, but honestly would not know how to start this process. I am more than happy to learn or be guided in a way that could help!

The point of this post is to ask for feedback on other people who have gone down this path of designing and building their own cases/pcb's, and whether there are any guides/tips to follow!

Thank you for reading, and it would be greatly appreciated if you could respond with any help :)

Offline glibber

Re: Designing my own keyboard from scratch, how would I attempt this?
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 31 March 2021, 08:19:15 »
I can't help you with the PCB, but for the rest, this path might work:

You can design your key layout on http://www.keyboard-layout-editor.com. With the data from there, you can get a plate designed on http://builder.swillkb.com/. You can see how to create a case in CAD pretty well in this video (the previous steps are shortly included there as well).
If you're new to CAD, you might want to look into some best practices for it before as well, will make your life much easier in the long run. That video isn't the best representation of those tbh ;)

Offline ifohancroft

• root
    • IFo Hancroft
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 31 March 2021, 11:47:25 »
Here is how I would do it (Some of the steps are what glibber already said, so I'm basically just adding on to that):

If it's a design with weird angles and things like that, I'd study it first to understand how it's done. By study and by understand I mean the following: