Author Topic: IBM Model M  (Read 9145 times)

Offline lbt1233

IBM Model M
« on: Sat, 02 June 2012, 17:35:07 »
I'm sure all of you are aware of the IBM Model M keyboards. I'm looking to buy one and I'm coming across the different model numbers of the M. Does anyone have incite on which variation is the best and why? A few of the numbers I came across are 1391406, 1391401, and 82G2383. Thanks

Offline Autolyze

IBM Model M
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 02 June 2012, 18:22:40 »
I'm not an expert, but I would say 41G3600, the industrial Space Saving Keyboard, is probably considered the "best" Model M. They're pretty rare though and the only one I've seen for sale ended up going for 510 EUR, so it's probably not what you're looking to buy.

Wikipedia's page on the Model M has the basic info on most of the part numbers you'll come across. Out of the ones you've listed, you probably want a 1391401 unless it comes with an AT cable, assuming you're looking for ANSI (US layout). A lot of people around here are into keyboards without numpads, so the Space Saving Keyboard variations (like 1391472) are fairly popular. They tend to be more expensive than the full-size boards though since they're less common and more in demand.

Offline bazemk1979

IBM Model M
« Reply #2 on: Sat, 02 June 2012, 18:48:06 »
http://www.ebay.com/itm/IBM-82G2383-VINTAGE-CLICKY-OLD-SCHOOL-SPRINGY-KEYBOARD-USB-ADAPTER-/120924023380?pt=PCA_Mice_Trackballs&hash=item1c27a22a54

this is an awesome deal for almost new maeby even never used IBM blue logo made by Lexmark + it includes the blue cube adapter, I would of snatched it right away but I have way too many IBM's new and used, well more like 80% new and 20% used.

Get that one, not much difference between the Lexmark and IBM made, lexmark has thinier/lighter metal  plate and maeby fit and finish of casing lacking in quality vs original IBM, but thats only in some rear cases.