Author Topic: Need some recommendations on linear switches  (Read 2227 times)

Offline khabib0460

Need some recommendations on linear switches
« on: Thu, 15 June 2023, 10:29:23 »
I know an opinion of a switch is highly personal but I'm really new to the custom keyboard world so I have very few references. I want to buy new switches that are somewhat budget friendly and are also better than my current ones https://19216801.onl/ https://routerlogin.uno/ .

The keyboard I'm using now is a keychron V6 with keychrons K pro red switches. They're fine now but want to upgrade them later. The two switches I was maybe thinking of buying were Milky Yellows and Star meteor whites. Anyone any new recommendations or comments on these two?

Also, I need some recommendations of where to buy lube and what to buy.
« Last Edit: Sun, 18 June 2023, 07:46:05 by khabib0460 »

Offline LavenderB

• I believe in unix control supremacy
Re: Need some recommendations on linear switches
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 15 June 2023, 12:30:25 »
What are you hoping to achieve by changing the switches? More smoothness? A different sound?
As for lube, the most popular option is krytox 205 grade 0. Your local online keyboard vendor probably has it. If you're just starting out, it's likely your best option, unless you're using gateron x switches. Also I think the keychron k pros are already factory lubed.
Safa | 1993 UK ISO-DE Model M  | Frog TKL | 3d printed bakeneko | Akko 5075s

Offline Sup

• * Exquisite Elder
  • Doing university was a mistake
« Reply #2 on: Fri, 16 June 2023, 08:16:47 »
Get some Gateron Pro v2. They are good and super smooth. Spending a lot of money on good switches is in the past.
current