Author Topic: Filco 87 keys white carbon  (Read 17593 times)

Offline user888

Filco 87 keys white carbon
« on: Thu, 23 January 2014, 01:01:25 »

Not a real review, but just some remarks and pictures.

In look for another keyboard to fight my wrist problems I bought a WASDKeyboards V2 (my findings here) with blue Cherry MX switches. I use it at the office (I'm a software developer) with great, great pleasure. I like the solid feel, combined with the crispy blue switches. Typing feels like popping bubblewrap. And I have less wrist problems (compared to typing on an Apple wireless keyboard).

But now I decided I needs a second board for at home. It had to be a Filco, to compare to the WASD. Of course also blue Cherry MX switches. I decided to go for a white one. But the standard white Filco's are more like beige/cream colored. And then I found some pictures of a white carbon version. It. Looked. Stunning. To me. KeyboardCo could deliver the case at a price of around 100€. Way to expensive (only the case!).

Then I started to navigate through Diatec's Japanese part of the site where I also found a keyboard with this white carbon case. I mailed them and it wasn't a problem to ship to Europe. It cost me around 140€ including shipping and an additional 40€ for custom. So I ordered a white carbon fiber with Ninja keys.

The keyboard came in a few days after ordering (very quick). The keyboard was in a cardboard box with gold Filco logo and a personal letter was included. To make you feel special. It worked for me. It also came with a dust brush (not on the pictures), keycap puller (actually two, I think a mistake), PS2 adapter, three Filco keys, and 2 Ninja Windows keys (the camera is fitted with two dome window keys to fulfil some requirement for a Microsoft hardware compatibility program).  The key puller is smaller than the WASD key puller by the way, the WASD puller does't fit the ESC key of the Filco.