Author Topic: Ultra light press mod 9-18 g. Rubber dome reduction for less force and travel.  (Read 5346 times)

Offline CryHam

• My Website, Projects, FOSS etc.
Hi. This is my modification for A4Tech KV-300H keyboard.
Pictures in gallery here with some 'how to' description text.
EDIT: a new video of the (boring) modding process.
And here a video with tesing the force on few keys with weights (read youtube description for more detailed info).

It reduces the rubber domes and results in about 9 to 18 gram actuation (press) force on keys.
Can be adjusted by cutting off more, but finally depends on the foil used inside (thickness and stiffness). And I can say this is my favourite, thinnest and lightest I found so far (well did just 3 anyway).

I've been using this keyboard since 4 months and it's been a real joy. And it has broaden my horizons for having very light pressing keys. It needs a bit of getting used to: e.g. no tactile feel, minimal travel distance (those are really benefits). And you can't just lie your fingers on it, like you would do on a regular (50gf) keyboard, but I'm always using a palm rest gel anyway.

Even if I hate long (full size) keyboards, I'm stuck to this one because of the light, nearly touch key feeling.
The keyboard itself is good quality (sure, not so good as Logitech) but keys are quite decent (just bit too square and plain), don't wobble too much, plastic is good quality (only the black board is crap). I guess they made the foil thinner to be cheaper, but this resulted in this awesome feeling after the mod.

This is my 4th such mod so far :cool:. My first (and second) were on Logitech Ultra X Flat (very decent one, just really hard, thick foil, so made it like 25-30 gf IIRC, i.e. harder to press).
My old pictures are here and final look here. It was in 2005 and 2008, I've been using it ever since, without problems. If there are any issues after such mods, they are visible/felt right after.