Author Topic: Landcaps - artisan in the making  (Read 5361 times)

Offline Landcaps

Landcaps - artisan in the making
« on: Sun, 01 October 2017, 14:22:07 »
Hello geekhack,

I'd like to introduce myself to the community, have been a lurker here for a few months and would like to share my journey in the keycap making.

first of all sorry if my english is bad.
I'm from Indonesia, got my first mechanical keyboard in 2013(DS3-mx brown) and start join the mechanical community in Indonesia. at that time not so many ppl know about artisan keycap it's still new thing but the price are crazy af. I saw this as an opportunity so i began research, but i didn't start at the artisan keycap yet. I don't have any scupting background, however i have some painting background from playing warhammer(tabletop game where you need to paint your miniature). I love to paint even though i didn't play warhammer anymore. beside the idea to make artisan keycap i also have an idea to make a dye-sub keycap for games such as dota2, csgo, etc. When researching about dye-sub, I didn't know dye-sub process is the way to go. and all i know how to make these printed keycaps is to buy flatbed printer machine which cost a lot of money that i don't have. so i got stuck there and slowly forget about the idea

skip to the end 2016, the keyboard community is growing rapidly. so many new artisan keycaps and a lot of variety of novelty keycaps, this lead me to dye-sub process which have to use PBT keycap, inkjet printer with special ink, and dye-sub machine at reasonable cost. at around the same time i start selling my first artisan(lava - handpainted) keycap locally in Indonesia but tbh the resin quality is not good, stem is fragile.

more images: https://imgur.com/a/jFRky
but by the time i made dota 2 lava artisan keycap (pict in the album) the quality of the resin is a lot better and didn't shattered anymore.