Author Topic: [IC] The Corne-ish Zen – IC#2 UPDATED Dec 31  (Read 19280 times)

Offline darryldh

• loprokb.ca
[IC] The Corne-ish Zen – IC#2 UPDATED Dec 31
« on: Sat, 21 November 2020, 12:00:21 »
Hello fellow Geeks and Geekettes,
Here for your consideration is my personal Covid lockdown project that I have been working on for around 8 months.

I call it the Corne-ish Zen.

It has been (obviously) inspired by @Foostan’s awesome Corne (CRKB) keyboard, but with a bunch of twists added to make it unique.

Project goals:

The goals of this project are to provide an affordable, but premium split keyboard, and to lower the barriers-of-entry by offering a fully assembled, and fully operational (minus switches and keycaps) keyboard.
No soldering, no firmware hacking (unless you want to) and no tools. Just add your favorite choc switches and keycaps, and start typing.

Features/Details:

I have spent a lot of time designing, re-designing (and even re-re-designing) this keyboard in an attempt to create something that has all the features I wanted, in a small, low package.
Here are some of the special things about this keyboard that might be of interest:

• Works exclusively with Kailh Choc v1 (pg1350) switches.
  • Choc key spacing. This is perfect for the awesome upcoming MBK Legend keycaps. (nice keyboard btw)
  • Pre-installed hotswap sockets FTW!
  • Fully assembled PCBs
  • Ships with ZMK firmware pre-installed
  • Externally  available power and reset switches
  • The PCBs feature snap-able pinky rows to allow 5x3 layouts for those who want that
  • Tiny upward facing status LED indicators for charging status and bootloader status
  • USB C port with ESD protection on data and power lines
  • Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) 5.0 module with CE, FCC, and RoHS Certifications. This module uses the Nordic NRF52840 SOC which has a 32-bit ARM Cortex-M4 CPU on board running at 64MHz