Author Topic: WideDV - a Dvorak based layout with many improvements (ISO & ANSI)  (Read 7826 times)

Offline Piro

Windows installer
Microsoft Keyboard Layout Creator file
CorelDRAW X5 template (Physically swap d and h so the bump is in the right place).

To start with, I base my layout on Dvorak - the reasoning behind this is simple: I have been using Dvorak for many years (10+), I think it has a nice typing rhythm, but there are some flaws, and I'll run down the design goals after the inital money shot.

These may change a little as I refine the extra keys. If you want the layout at any point, ask and I should have it ready. I'll link it when it is 100% done and there are no more concerns.

Main ISO layout is as follows (ISO is the primary design platform, but [post=593351]read down for ANSI goodness and testing results).[/post]

Unshifted:

Shifted:

AltGr:

Shift+AltGr:

Design goals/outline:
Here are some of the common issues that I aim to have tackled with this design:

Shortcut keys:
X - x moved to ; position, ; moved left.
My main concern is not to have QWERTY like shortcut keys, but a nod is given to them being easy to hit with one hand. ZXCV positioning is not considered paramount.
Also, all the letters are now available without significant (extremely little) hand movement. Previously x was just too far away.

The stretch to f:
Fix - move it to the old position of j.
Reasoning - j is seldom used. j gets displaced.
Please note for anyone who thinks this using a bottom row position is bad for a common letter:- this position is far too easy to hit with the index finger to be left for j. 'm' and 'w' are more frequent than f and already have a bottom row position.

U & I: Swapped.
This puts the 8 most frequent letters under your home fingers. Yes, it very slightly increases effort for 'ou' but is overall an obvious refinement.

The oft-derided position of l:
Fix - Swapped with r. [original design swapped with g, but this had issues]