Author Topic: AEK 1/2 or IBM model M for flawless MAC/WIN setup  (Read 2157 times)

Offline michael_engel

AEK 1/2 or IBM model M for flawless MAC/WIN setup
« on: Sun, 29 May 2016, 12:13:06 »
Hi all.

Im new to this forum.
Im an Electronic Engineering student from Denmark. I have been studying electronics for only 6 months by now.
I LOVE the old mechanical keyboards - i grew up using an Amiga 500 which has a great sound and feel.

I need some advise on how to choose (and hack) the best keyboard for my modern desk.
I am using a Retina Macbook Pro and a Apple Thunderbolt Display. I am running both OSX and WINDOWS 10 via BootCamp.

Currently i am using a Danish layout Logitech K750 for practical reasons, but i would love to have an American layout IBM model M or one of the Apple extended keyboards for programming.

SO... The ideal finished solution for me is:
- Vintage mechanical keyboard (preferably an iconic model as the Model M or AEK 1 or 2)
- Windows and Mac compatible
- Flawless hack (no ghosting)

Which setup and hack do you guys recommend and why?

Thanks!

Michael

Offline fohat.digs

• * Elevated Elder
  • weird funny old guy
Re: AEK 1/2 or IBM model M for flawless MAC/WIN setup
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 29 May 2016, 12:16:33 »
I prefer the AEK to the AEK2, but really I am an IBM guy who has used the Model F for several years.

If you are an Apple enthusiast, get an AEK and something like this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Griffin-iMate-ADB-to-USB-adapter-/222098267320?hash=item33b6169cb8:m:m56yBREdTTlOZpBnHKSRSvw
"The Trump campaign announced in a letter that Republican candidates and committees are now expected to pay “a minimum of 5% of all fundraising solicitations to Trump National Committee JFC” for using his “name, image, and likeness in fundraising solicitations.”