Author Topic: ThinkPad nubbin PS/2 refit  (Read 2839 times)

Offline conartist6

ThinkPad nubbin PS/2 refit
« on: Tue, 19 January 2010, 23:57:23 »
Anybody think it would be possible to use a thinkpad nubbin as a standalone PS/2 device on a normal computer? I'm new to the sort of thing, but I've got a drawer full of miscellaneous wires, dead laptops, and a dead thinkpad keyboard (ALPS model, with working nubbin). As far as I know the keyboard and mouse both interface using a normal PS/2 protocol. I assume at bare minimum I would need to tap actual wires into the keyboard's mobo connector, find a pinout, and splice the correct ones up to a PS/2 cable. I don't really know what that sort of connector it called, but its extremely common sort of thing (NOT a ZIF design). Basically just looking for reactions as to the plausability of something like this, and if possible terminology relating to parts I might need to do it. Thanks!

-conartist6

Offline lowpoly

« Reply #1 on: Wed, 20 January 2010, 07:03:51 »
This should work. Here's a lot of info:

http://jedipad.org/

Miniguru thread at GH // The Apple M0110 Today

Offline ch_123

• * Exalted Elder
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 20 January 2010, 09:28:59 »
It seems to me somehow that using the Trackpoint as a standalone device would be to completely miss the point of the Trackpoint.

Offline Viett

« Reply #3 on: Wed, 20 January 2010, 09:32:47 »
You could use it as a sort of analog joystick. Very useful for games.
Keyboards: FKBN87MC/NPEK, Dell AT101W (Black), IBM Model M 1391401 (91) x 2, Deck 82 Fire, Cherry MX8100 (Clears), Siig Minitouch
Layouts: Colemak (100WPM), QWERTY (100WPM) -- Alternative Layouts Review

Offline conartist6

details.
« Reply #4 on: Thu, 28 January 2010, 23:33:01 »