Author Topic: Northgate rejuvenation?  (Read 55921 times)

Offline omnigeek

Northgate rejuvenation?
« on: Sat, 31 May 2014, 02:14:55 »
Has anyone converted a Northgate Omnikey to use Matias clicky or quiet switches?  I've been searching around but couldn't find anyone talking about this.  The Matias switches should swap right in, right?

I've been using Omnikeys for 20+ years and they're (finally?!) starting to show their age a bit -- the keys feel "mushy" or they jam up a tiny bit if I don't hit them dead-center.  I tore one keyboard apart and cleaned all the sliders, housings, etc. (using the very helpful information on this site!)  But it still didn't help very much.

I'm going to try both types of Matias switches to see which ones I like better, and if I can settle on one type then I plan to replace all the switches.  I can't be the first one doing this, right?  Or if I am then I'll report back here with the results  :)

I love the Omnikey Ultra/102 layout with the Ctrl key next to A, Alt below shift, Caps Lock out of the way and the F keys on the left.  I'm so much more productive with that layout.

So, I guess this is a question for Mr. Matias: is there any possibility of producing a keyboard with a layout like the old Omnikeys?  For myself, even if it cost as much as the Half I would probably buy at least one, maybe more, but is anyone else interested in this layout anymore?
Northgate Omnikey Ultra rebuilt w/Matias clickies | Northgate Omnikey 102 | Avant Stellar | [/url]Visit the Typing Test and try!

Offline jacobolus

Re: Northgate rejuvenation?
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 01 June 2014, 01:12:14 »
What I would recommend is you leave the original switches soldered in, but swap in the click leaves from Matias clicky switches. I personally like the franken-switch combination of white Alps housing/slider/spring + Matias click leaf better than either of the original switches it’s made from.