Author Topic: your suggestions please  (Read 1323 times)

Offline Chemoletter

your suggestions please
« on: Sun, 02 May 2021, 06:02:45 »
hello, party people.

i need your advice once again.

after making this https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=57434.msg1305591#msg1305591 and being very unsatisfied with cherry mx blue, i decided to build something new again (that is to say - solder stuff to a premade pcb and design a sleek case). however, i have the biggest problem choosing the right pcb, caps and switch ( i'm done with cherry and am eager to try linear switches and another brand). i'd appreciate any suggestions from you, because i'm still a total beginner.

maybe the following constraints i have will help you, help me better:

- i'd like a TKL PCB (where to find, what do you reccomend?)
- my layout will be ISO german with the big ass enter key
- if possible no cherry switches (i'd appreciate suggestions for linear switch types)
- i'd like to fit doubleshot PBT caps, if possible illuminate them (should be possible i think i saw these on ready made boards)
- i have yet to experience that super smooth "thock"

could you point me in the right direction? i moved to switzerland, so nearby suppliers would be preferable but not a must.

thank you in advance

also: could you enlighten me as to what a layout is called that is TKL but HAS a full numberpad with the arrow keys included (like the cmstorm tkl)?
« Last Edit: Sun, 02 May 2021, 06:11:01 by Chemoletter »

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
Re: your suggestions please
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 02 May 2021, 20:14:56 »
I believe what you're referring to is 90% or 96 key.
Check out the XD96 pcb and case, it supports BAE/ISO.