Author Topic: Hello from VA  (Read 2325 times)

Offline Tarzan

• formerly known as Greystoke
  • * Maker
Hello from VA
« on: Fri, 11 January 2013, 17:28:51 »
I see I'm not the only new person (or older member, for that matter) from Virginia! 

I'm relatively new to keyboard mania, until recently I've been whacking away on a collection of miscellaneous cheap input devices, but after getting frustrated with the freebie floppy board at work, I recently bought a Noppoo Choc Mini.  As they say, the light it has dawned. This is what typing is supposed to be, accurate, fast, and with a board that doesn't flex in the middle or walk around the desk when I'm typing.

I've been doing a lot of comparison research for my next keyboard, because of course now I have to have a mechanical keyboard for home.  At least one...   :)

The one that looks like the best combination for my mix of typing and PC gaming is the Ducky Shine 2, with green LEDs and Cherry MX Brown switches.  Full-size (?), not the 84-key TKL version.  One other person in my office uses a Das Keyboard, and although it's nice and shiny, I do like a lighted keyboard for gaming.  I have a Saitek Eclipse II at home, pretty ancient and lots of quirks, so a Ducky keyboard should be a nice upgrade.  I had looked at the Filco Ninja Majestouch-2, because I like the look of the no-top-label key caps, but the lack of lighting was the deciding factor.

So...  anyone have a Shine 2 for sale?  My ideal color combination seems to be out of stock everywhere.  That's what wishlists are for, I guess.  :-)

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
Re: Hello from VA
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 12 January 2013, 00:28:46 »
Welcome to Geekhack!

"... or walk around the desk when I'm typing" - LOL that's what happens, doesn't it :))

I went the other way - got a mechanical at home first, then had to get one for work.

http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=113_1361&products_id=21039