Author Topic: [help] putting my first keyboard together, help a newbie with some tips!  (Read 1975 times)

Offline Brad 808

hey dudes,
so about a month ago i purchased my first mech, a ducky shine 3, and instantly fell in love with how the typing feels (mx blacks, i like a heavy press). As i learned more and more about the keyboards i got the "hey i can do that" mentality. i have been making small scale guitar effects for a few years now, so i have a background in soldering components and things, and making a keyboard seems like the perfect challenge to me!

for my project i decided i wanted to do a recreation of radical edwards keyboard from Cowboy Bebop. for those of you that haven't seen it, which is most likely everyone, here is a picture:

the main thing im looking for help with is a cad layout for this keyboard. i have no experience drawing things up in any form of cad software so i was hoping one of the guru's on this site could help me out in making a design. it looks like it would be a 60% design, but with two rows of Fn keys at the top, with each Fn being the size of an enter key, and the escape key as a little island to the left side of the keyboard.

i already have a teensy 2 on order, and can't wait to start playing with that, and i was thinking MX reds for the switches too. any help or tips are appreciated, thanks guys!

Offline jacobolus

I’d recommend you just use a 2-d vector graphics program like Inkscape or Adobe Illustrator.

There might be some useful stuff in http://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=47744.0

Offline Charger

I really hope this project goes some where as that seems like it would be a really cool keyboard to have.