Author Topic: Newbie Questions for 1st build  (Read 2040 times)

Offline chungsteroonie

Newbie Questions for 1st build
« on: Fri, 23 April 2021, 02:16:52 »
Hello,

I'm just dipping my toe into the custom keyboard world, and I am certain folks here in the community field or ignore tons of ignorant questions from people just like me all the time.  I sincerely appreciate anyone who would offer their hard-earned knowledge and experience.  I am hoping someone might be able to point me towards the right products and information for a 1st build.  I will as briefly as possible provide some information about myself in hopes that someone knowledgeable might quickly be able to point me towards a starting point.

I am new to mechanical keyboards but proficient in most electronic and mechanical assembly.  I can do point to point assembly and am comfortable soldering on PCB's.  I have repaired several retail mechanical keyboards (removing/replacing broken switches, LED's, etc.).  I can do simple SMD repairs/modifications with rework station and traditional iron.

I know the sky is the limit with custom parts and configurations, but I am looking to start with maximum bang-for-buck while gaining entry into the most core functional benefits of a hand-assembled keyboard.  In other things like making custom microphones or bass guitars, one of my greatest joys is using the cheapest possible Chinese parts where they do not make any functional difference while spending money and time on essential parts like the capsule or,hand-wound pickups, or hand leveling frets to perfection.  As a point of reference, after trying all manner of "gamer" setups, my daily driver PC is now based on an eMachines case. . . not quite old enough to be beige and hip, but had the essential airflow features that a high powered modern system needs to operate.