Author Topic: Considering a Kinesis Advantage Purchase...  (Read 23436 times)

Offline bradpowers

Considering a Kinesis Advantage Purchase...
« on: Thu, 19 January 2012, 20:17:48 »
Hello,

I've been lurking around the forum for a while now, absorbing as much information as I could.  I'm a graduate student in robotics (basically a programmer) which means that I'm at a computer 12-14 hours a day.  I've been beginning to feel cramps and mild pain in my hands, wrists, and occasionally shoulders, which has prompted me to start looking into fixing my work environment.  Sadly, I'm also a graduate student, so that started with free things such as a timer to remind me to take breaks, as well as remapping caps lock as a control key, and others.  That said, I'm starting my career with a job in February.  Because of the amount of typing I do, and the fact that I'm beginning to feel pain at the ripe old age of 23, I want to try a more ergonomic keyboard.  After much research, it appears that a Kinesis Advantage may be quite excellent, as it remaps the (frequently used) keys normally on the finger with the most pain (the pinky) to one with none (the thumb).  They don't call it emacs pinky for nothing!  

Now that you know my situation, I have a couple of questions.  

1) I've seen talk of a Kinesis Advantage LF.  If I were going to pay for a keyboard such as the Kinesis, I want it to be perfect.  Should I go for the LF or the regular version?

2) Is there anyone in the Philadelphia or Boston areas with a spare Kinesis I could try for a week or so?

3) Has anyone found compelling keymaps for an emacs user?  I'll be relying heavily on ctrl and alt, so perhaps putting ctrl on the left thumb and alt on the right would be optimal?

I'll post more questions if I think of any.

Thanks,
Bradley Powers

Offline sordna

« Reply #1 on: Thu, 19 January 2012, 20:57:31 »
Welcome to GH! I'll try to answer some of your questions: