Author Topic: Gateron Switches Comparison and Recommendations  (Read 3092 times)

Offline candy800419

Gateron Switches Comparison and Recommendations
« on: Thu, 28 May 2020, 20:01:24 »
I'm looking to build a new keyboard and am looking for some suggestions.

Currently, I am using lubed gateron red switches. When I type I notice that when typing "space" it either don't get registered or it gets registered twice. I'm not sure if it's because of the switch or if it's something else. Just for reference, I am using SA profile keycaps and plate-mounted stabilizers. The keyboard is for general use, so typing at work (I'm a software developer) and gaming.

For my next keyboard, because of the many "double taps", I am considering black switches. Now, I've personally never tried black swtiches or have access to them, and because ordering them takes weeks or months to ship, I'd like to get some idea on general experience for people who used these switches.

So here are some of my questions:
1. How are lubed black switches compare to lubed red switches? Is it really significant and can cause fatigue if not used to?
2. What about lubed black switches vs UNLUBED red switches? I have some spare lubed and unlubed RED switches I can try but no blacks on hand.
3. Is it possible that lubing red switches caused it to be too light that I double tap? Would unlubed red be better than lubed black?

Thanks for the help :)

Offline Maledicted

Re: Gateron Switches Comparison and Recommendations
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 29 May 2020, 00:44:57 »
CHERRY MX key chattering

That may help. My trusty old K70 can develop chatter if I go way too long without cleaning it. I have only cleaned it maybe twice since I got it in 2014. lol