Author Topic: Why shouldn't I do this... Am I missing something?  (Read 2610 times)

Offline fkaEpsilon

Why shouldn't I do this... Am I missing something?
« on: Fri, 26 November 2021, 06:02:39 »
Hey all!

tl;dr Can I switch an QWERTY letter layout to an AZERTY one when using uniform key caps (if all other keys stay the same)?

Alright, so I am very new to the hobby and completely submerged in the 'research before first purchase'-phase.

For my first build, I am leaning towards buying off the shelf parts from different vendors,
just so I don't have to wait months to get my hands dirty.

One thing that so far has jumped out at me is how much more options there are
out there for ANSI layouts when it comes to shopping for in stock key caps.
(Am I looking in the wrong places?)

As I am not an American I am not accustomed to this layout,
although I have to say I can definitely see the advantages and I am more than willing to try it out.

But one thing that is going to be a hell of a lot harder to learn
is switching from my AZERTY-BE layout for the letters to a QWERTY layout.

So here is the question:
If I like uniform key caps (such as DSA) is there a reason for me not to just go with
the wide options available to ANSI builders but simply switch out the QWERTY layout (just for the letters) to a AZERTY layout, keeping all the rest of the keys the same?

Any and all expertise on this matter will be greatly appreciated!

Online Rob27shred

• Insane in the Membrane! 👻
Re: Why shouldn't I do this... Am I missing something?
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 26 November 2021, 08:25:28 »