Author Topic: CHERRY G80-3000LQCEU-O with MX clear switches  (Read 3924 times)

Offline filimonovici

CHERRY G80-3000LQCEU-O with MX clear switches
« on: Sun, 08 January 2012, 16:35:23 »
Hello to everyone,
My name is Flavio, and I'm a newb on this forum. I'm from Romania, actually living in Italy, so please excuse my English.

I' almost proud to say that I got my first mechanical keyboard a week ago, and after using it for a while, I thought I should present it to you. Why ALMOST?
Because without the possibility of trying out some mechanical switches, and only by reading some threads, I went and bought this keyboard - the Cherry G80-3000LQCEU-0.

The Cherry corporation states that this model has a soft tactile feel, and I went for it, but I'm a little bit disappointed because the keys are not so soft, and honestly, it feels close to a rubber dome keyboard. Don't get me wrong, you still have that pleasant sensation that you get from a mechanical keyboard when typing, but the force required to depress the keys, cumulated with the force required to "beat" the bump that gives you that tactile feedback, makes you bottom out eight times out of ten.  Your fingers won't get to hoover over the keyboard, or dance like many like to say. You almost always will end up bottoming out.

EDIT (after a month of use)
But fortunately this happens only to those who are used to the rubber dome keyboards, because you are forced to bottom out every key and the muscle memory is stronger than your brain. Anyway, I can assure you that after one month you will be flying on the keys.