Author Topic: Review of a refurbished apple m0116.  (Read 3042 times)

Offline henz

• * Exquisite Elder
  • What?
Review of a refurbished apple m0116.
« on: Mon, 25 May 2015, 04:50:33 »
Hi,

As im quite new to the review world, please bare with me.

Some time ago i bought a apple m0116, i got at a nice price from a fellow in the US.And the reason for me getting it was because i wanted to tried some alps. After some days of anticipation and waiting, the keyboard finally arrived.

When i opened up the box i noticed that the keyboard had chipped on the edge, after some discussion with the seller, he reduced the price because opf the chipped case. After that i removed the keycaps because i wanted to clean it up. To my surprise there was rust on the plate, and some kind of leftovers from the 80s(close barf call).

I then threw away the pcb, cleaned the plate. sanded down the rust. And repainted the plate.

I decided to  handwire everything and connect it to a teensy, after some coding and some torubleshooting(thanks hasu). I had a working keyboard.
Build log and all other information can be found here: https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=71890.0

Another modification done is that i moved the lock button which is usually located under capslock to the top backspace button.  Which i now use as another function layer.

As i have never tried alps before, i do not have any other reference. but ill do my best to explain hte experience.

Previous experinces:
I have previosuly been using alot of MX keyboards and most of the normal switch setups(browns,blues,reds,blacks,clears,white,green, tacto blacks,ergo clears, have yet to try the gray variaties.)

With Salmon alps and dyesublimated PBT(i think). I must say i like this keyboard very much.