Author Topic: RGB LED mod  (Read 2538 times)

Offline Nguruthos7

RGB LED mod
« on: Sun, 05 July 2015, 16:12:13 »
Hey guys, I am relatively new to the geekhack community -this is my first thread- and would like your input on an idea I have for a mod:

I own a Ducky Shine III board and, being that the spacebar has two non-addressable RGB LEDs, I was wondering if it would be possible to mod the rest of the keys for RGB. My plan so far is modding each(?) key with RGB LEDs (CA or CC?), resistors, and, if necessary, drivers and connecting the RGB leads to the color control keys for the spacebar. Has anyone attempted something like this before? Again, I am new here so any links to previous projects and threads would be greatly appreciated!
独立独歩

Offline user 18

• * Senior Moderator
Re: RGB LED mod
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 05 July 2015, 16:52:54 »
Hey guys, I am relatively new to the geekhack community -this is my first thread- and would like your input on an idea I have for a mod:

I own a Ducky Shine III board and, being that the spacebar has two non-addressable RGB LEDs, I was wondering if it would be possible to mod the rest of the keys for RGB. My plan so far is modding each(?) key with RGB LEDs (CA or CC?), resistors, and, if necessary, drivers and connecting the RGB leads to the color control keys for the spacebar. Has anyone attempted something like this before? Again, I am new here so any links to previous projects and threads would be greatly appreciated!

RGB LEDs have at least 4 leads (I believe surface mount ones have 6 typically?), while single-colour LEDs like the Shine III only have two leads. Typical through-hole RGB LEDs don't fit well in Cherry switches, as they are too large for the LED hole in the switch. I believe one or two users made some effort towards filing LEDs down and modifying switch housings to make them fit, but I don't have a link for that.