Author Topic: Need IT career advice  (Read 9244 times)

Offline StonerNerd

Need IT career advice
« on: Sat, 01 July 2017, 23:34:44 »
Hello everyone!
After repairing MacBooks for a year, I recently started training to be an L1 tech support for a web hosting company. My goal is to move up the chain to eventually become a system admin (also want to become a pen tester on the side). Can anyone give me some tips on what I can do to help me move up the totem pole and get known in the office? 

Offline exitfire401

• * Global Moderator
  • The Force is Re/\l
Re: Need IT career advice
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 02 July 2017, 00:09:03 »
The biggest thing I can suggest is find something you like and stick with it. If security is your thing, bring it up to your supervisor. Get some facetime with the security team and see if they would be able to allow you shadowing time. It really helps you:
A) Familiarize with the team
B) Learn the tools
C) Find out what you'll be encountering daily
D) determine what skillset outside of the team is most needed and what you can bring to the table when you are at the skill level to join.

I work at an MSP and am currently working my way out of the tech support hell hole and hoping to move towards either a linux admin or security analyst role (and hopefully over towards project management from there) and shadowing has been immensely helpful in my case. I worked at a helpdesk while going to school for business, so I came in with a base level understanding of windows administration and some SAP administration experience. My current position is my first "Professional" experience, and I've been extremely lucky to have been exposed to so many systems and environments, that I otherwise never would have dabbled in.