Author Topic: "Gritty" feeling in my new filco keyboard  (Read 4772 times)

Offline Lust

"Gritty" feeling in my new filco keyboard
« on: Wed, 03 December 2014, 03:14:05 »
hey guys i just recently purchased a new filco keyboard (MX Blue) and it felt really gritty. i dont know how to put it really but it doesnt feel right.
i had another board from filco which was an mx brown and it didnt have the issue as bad as this new one. ive also typed on another mechanical keyboard (razer blackwidow ultimate) and the comparing the two the razer surprisingly felt smoother. if that makes sense...

im no keyboard expert and ive tried searching stuff like this up but couldnt find any answers. i apologize in advance for my ignorance.

thanks

Offline intelli78

Re: "Gritty" feeling in my new filco keyboard
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 03 December 2014, 03:22:45 »
Some MX blues are grittier than others from the factory, I find, and they also get smoother with use. If you tried a used Razer, that's probably why it felt different. It's possible there's something wrong with your switches, but it's unlikely.
Please consider carefully before you decide to comment, for Jesus.

Offline Lust

« Reply #2 on: Wed, 03 December 2014, 03:35:58 »
i think im going to return this filco and purchase somewhere else.

im not too sure if it really makes a difference but the switch housing was assembled upside down on some of the switches.
the keyboard also felt very dry with the large keys(constant squeaking sound and you can feel it rubbing constantly)

ive never had any issues with a filco keyboard until now... do you think it might just be defective? and if so is there another brand i should be looking at or a certain place where i should be buying a new filco keyboard? ive been buying from amazon and spending 220 dollars on a keyboard and not being satisfied kinda sucks

Offline swill

• * Elevated Elder
  • builder & enabler
    • swillkb.com
« Reply #3 on: Wed, 03 December 2014, 07:10:16 »