Author Topic: Hello! This is exciting!  (Read 1699 times)

Offline casualyeti

Hello! This is exciting!
« on: Mon, 10 August 2020, 15:08:17 »
Hello everyone. My name is Yvette. I’m really new to the mechanical keyboard hobby, but I’ve become instantly submersed in it. I specifically use full-size keyboards because my work requires it, so getting into this hobby has been a little difficult. Really interested in putting together my own full-size board. I have one right now with cherry silent red switches, which I like so far, but I also ordered a switch tester before I buy anything else. The board I have right now is not hot swappable, and I’m curious about that.
If anyone has suggestions how to find a DIY full-size keyboard I’d really appreciate it. I’m ready to absorb all the knowledge I can and listen to some sweet switches!

Offline switchnollie

• sleever supreme
  • * Exquisite Elder
  • greyhat co-leader
Re: Hello! This is exciting!
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 10 August 2020, 18:38:41 »
Welcome :)

Full sized boards are hard to come by in the custom market.

Have you tried looking into the 1800 layout?
It's essentially a full sized keyboard but the keys are squished together and there are a few more kits around.

Keyboards: HHKB Pro 1 & OTD 356CL Dark Greyhat Edition, baybee!

Offline ddrfraser1

• RIP Neil
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 10 August 2020, 19:08:28 »
Hello everyone. My name is Yvette. I’m really new to the mechanical keyboard hobby, but I’ve become instantly submersed in it. I specifically use full-size keyboards because my work requires it, so getting into this hobby has been a little difficult. Really interested in putting together my own full-size board. I have one right now with cherry silent red switches, which I like so far, but I also ordered a switch tester before I buy anything else. The board I have right now is not hot swappable, and I’m curious about that.