Author Topic: Another hello from the UK  (Read 1748 times)

Offline petersboulton

• Software Update Wizard - add Auto-Updates with a single line of code
Another hello from the UK
« on: Thu, 19 March 2015, 13:24:42 »
Hi all,

I'm hoping to not get smitten with the keyboard bug but it may be too late!  I've been using a Unicomp for the last 5 years because I'm old enough to remember the IBM Model M's.  Indeed I do have a Model M from a PS/2, UK model, but I don't use it any more because the footprint is too big relative to where I need a mouse to be, it doesn't have a Windows key (duh!) and it's not USB.

I also have the Unicomp's predecessor, a Saitek Eclipse II, which is quite nice for a rubber dome jobby.

I've occasionally swapped back to the Saitek just to get that fresh 'just new' feeling from the Unicomp.  But it got me thinking about how the contrast is nice between the clickety-clack of the Unicomp and the (relatively) smooth and soft feeling of the Saitek.

So... after much research, mainly here, I decided to get a Topre Realforce with uniform 45gm keys, which is now 2 days old.  Yes, I think I'm loving it, even if one can argue over whether it's mechanical or not.  I plan to swap from Topre to Unicomp to Topre on a monthly cycle and therefore relive the pleasure of new keyboard feel regularly.

Oh, let me own up that I can't touch type.  I'm a software developer / documenter etc. so I type a lot and can just about manage to type, reasonably quickly, without looking at the keyboard all the time!

That's it!  I hope to review the Topre some way down the line.  It's a shame that most people can't try before they buy on mechanical keyboards so hopefully the more material and differing opinions there is here the more helpful future enthusiasts will find it!

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
Re: Another hello from the UK
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 23 March 2015, 04:58:15 »
Welcome to Geekhack!