Author Topic: Installing O-Rings on Kinesis Advantage keyboard  (Read 11145 times)

Offline bankergeek

Installing O-Rings on Kinesis Advantage keyboard
« on: Mon, 18 February 2013, 23:08:19 »
I have a Kinesis Advantage Pro Keyboard with cherry browns, but the keyboard is quite loud and this is a nuisance to coworkers. I want to install O-Rings but I don't want to risk damaging the keyboard; I've read posts on here that people have broken keys when they have taken out their keys on their Kinesis. I'm a complete noob when it comes to soldering so I'd like to avoid that. Any suggestions? Thanks!

Also, are the cherry reds less loud?

Offline keymaster

• Topre Revolution Theorist
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 18 February 2013, 23:15:26 »
Browns shouldn't be too much louder than a rubber dome keyboad with the red o-rings from WASD Keyboards. It's exactly what I currently use on my browns. As long as you're not mashing the keys, they'll sound much softer.

Offline bankergeek

Re: Installing O-Rings on Kinesis Advantage keyboard
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 18 February 2013, 23:23:36 »
Great. I'd definitely like to put in O-Rings, but any idea how I can pull out the keys on a Kinesis without damaging them? I've saw in some threads, people have messed up the wiring by pulling the keys out.

Offline keymaster

• Topre Revolution Theorist
« Reply #3 on: Mon, 18 February 2013, 23:27:21 »
Sorry, I'm not familar with the Kinesis/edox type keyboards to be able to confirm that. However, as long as you're using a wired puller, I can't imagine you damaging the keyboard whatsoever. Perhaps they were doing something else like replacing the switches?

Offline mikelanding

« Reply #4 on: Mon, 18 February 2013, 23:55:25 »
I had the same Kinesis KB like you. I had installed rubber o-ring on all keycaps without any issue.
Do take note:
1) Use good keypuller like below

2) Do be very careful when you pulling out the keycaps at Thumb cluster. I had few time pulled out the top portion of Cherry Switch. :S