Author Topic: Topre for a mac  (Read 11852 times)

Offline garage_logician

Topre for a mac
« on: Thu, 01 October 2015, 21:57:32 »
I am looking for a keyboard with Topre switches that will work with a MacBook Pro.  I was on mk.com and found a Leopold FC660 with Topre 45's.  I thought, perfect!  But it seems that it does not work with a Mac.  :-(   

Offline raymogi

Re: Topre for a mac
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 01 October 2015, 21:58:52 »
HHKB Pro 2 :)
Please feed my addiction.

Offline garage_logician

« Reply #2 on: Thu, 01 October 2015, 22:00:22 »
I looked at that one but I need a dedicated arrow keys.  As a developer I use them a lot with Sublime (and other applications).  Having to access a separate layer would be awkward, I think.   

Offline raymogi

« Reply #3 on: Thu, 01 October 2015, 22:03:17 »
I hated it at first as well, but after a couple days of using it, it becomes second nature to hold down fn and access the arrow layer.

Although I understand if you need it constantly it's going to be annoying.

Offline tararais

• Forum Justice Warrior
« Reply #4 on: Thu, 01 October 2015, 22:16:45 »
Do the 87/104U boards not work? If you need dedicated arrow keys and are happy with a 60%, you'd probably do well with an 87U.

Offline Axollott

« Reply #5 on: Thu, 01 October 2015, 22:17:17 »
I use a Novatouch without any problems.

Offline garage_logician

« Reply #6 on: Thu, 01 October 2015, 22:24:38 »
Do the 87/104U boards not work? If you need dedicated arrow keys and are happy with a 60%, you'd probably do well with an 87U.

I prefer a TKL board.  I never use the number pad and since this is for my laptop (mostly) it will travel easier if it is smaller.  I prefer to get as compact as I can but I do want dedicated arrow keys.   Just learning all the terms (seems that keyboard enthusiasts have there very own language, which I am eager to learn  :-)).  Is an 104U a Tenkeyless board and the 87U a 60% like the V60?

Offline raymogi