Author Topic: My first mechanical keyboard - The cheapest on amazon!  (Read 9575 times)

Offline beko1987

My first mechanical keyboard - The cheapest on amazon!
« on: Wed, 15 November 2017, 07:53:06 »
So, as explained in my intro post in the other room, I want a mechanical keyboard! Never had one before, but fancy one.

But for a complete newbie, quite frankly its bewildering! Having never tried one before I don't have a good start either!

So, I did something quite silly and bought the cheapest actually mechanical board on amazon UK!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B071RDDK9R/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

And a 1p sim card as I don't have prime, and it was £5 shipping if under £20.

It came today!

Feel free to laugh at my janky setup! The num pad is from a laptop I bought from a car boot sale years ago, 2001 vintage, but I need one for work! The wrist rest is from my IBM KB9910 that I was using prior. Does the job for now though!

Having no prior experience of mechs, it's quite nice! Feels solid, the red LED's are cool, but distracting so their turned off for now. The key caps show grease though, I ate my crisps earlier and it shows

Switches are supposedly Gateron Blues, but the switches say TTC on them

In use? It's too loud! I bottom the keys out unless I try really hard, this post is taking 4x as long to write as it otherwise would! Hoping a bit of practise gets me lighter though, when they just actuate it's a lovely sound!

So here I am really! I've had a few comments from my immediate colleagues, good and bad, but thats why I chose a cheap one initially, so if it's no good at work, I havent lost too much! Now I'm wondering if I should have gone with browns, or if o-rings will quieten it down a bit?

Offline leech

• …always on the lookout for higher quality…
Re: My first mechanical keyboard - The cheapest on amazon!
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 15 November 2017, 11:44:01 »
You got the cheapest modern mechanical keyboard on amazon, nice!