Author Topic: Soldering assistance - how to fix burnt solder pad?  (Read 8189 times)

Offline Shrub

Soldering assistance - how to fix burnt solder pad?
« on: Wed, 29 November 2017, 11:08:33 »
Hey all,

I was wondering if you could help me out of a tricky situation. I'm a novice @ soldering and in my haste ended up burning a solder pad (at least I think so). I wasn't aware of the potential to burn the metal contacts off on the pad. This is a cheap MagicForce 68 and was the reason I threw caution to the winds a bit, I'm soldering in Kailh Bronzes.

All the switches I've soldered, work aside from the spacebar and letters 1 and 5.

My plan of action after reading up on Geekhack was to unsolder the switch, and see if the switch will register using a pair of tweezers, my hopes aren't high considering there is no metal contact on both sides of the PCB (I think I burnt both off).

Here's a picture of my PCB (half the switches here are stock and half replaced) https://imgur.com/mjJcRM7 and more specifically a closeup of my damaged Spacebar key https://imgur.com/kUcXn2k. I believe its the leftmost solder blob/pad that is stripped of its contact but could be both since the right one is partially damaged.

How should I proceed? I read here that it's possible to solder to adjacent switches with some wire or something. I feel that might be within my capabilities.

Or is there another way I should go about this?

Kind regards.

Offline metalliqaz

• * Maker
  • Leopold fanboy
Re: Soldering assistance - how to fix burnt solder pad?
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 29 November 2017, 11:47:35 »
You can't burn them away.  If you damaged them during desoldering, then you would see them come off, and usually they stay connected to the traces on the board, so they are just sorta flopping around.