Author Topic: How did you learn to use Vim?  (Read 16116 times)

Offline alexjd99

• oozing through the cells of one's own construction
How did you learn to use Vim?
« on: Tue, 24 November 2015, 22:44:53 »
I'm having a very hard time learning Vim, so I was curious if anyone knew any way for me to learn without feeling like I'm being hit by a bus  :p

Offline nathanrosspowell

• * Destiny Supporter
    • nathanrosspowell.com
Re: How did you learn to use Vim?
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 24 November 2015, 22:59:42 »
Prepare to be repeatedly ran over by that bus, for a few weeks -or- just quit now!

There is no easy way to learn. Persistence is key. You are remapping the way your brain works, it takes time.

Offline intelli78

« Reply #2 on: Tue, 24 November 2015, 23:09:39 »
For me, it didn't stick until I just started practicing keystrokes over and over. You just have to drill them into your brain by actually typing them repeatedly. Reading about them won't help--going through the motions will.
Please consider carefully before you decide to comment, for Jesus.

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
« Reply #3 on: Wed, 25 November 2015, 03:34:43 »
I was using vi on Unix systems many years ago.

Then when Linux was invented and I started using it, somehow I got on to elvis (another vi clone).

Then I dabbled with FreeBSD, which has more like the original vi.

Now I generally use CentOS 6/7 and Debian 8, which include vim.

Mostly I just use vim as if it was elvis or vi.