Author Topic: Thock-thock, who's there?  (Read 1471 times)

Offline yaro_b

Thock-thock, who's there?
« on: Wed, 12 August 2015, 07:08:32 »
Hello guys and girls,

I've been lurking on the forum for quite a while and only today I decided to introduce myself.

I'm a computer programmer and spend a huge chunk of work time typing on a keyboard. Since I've always been all-about-ergonomics guy I started looking for the best keyboard awhile ago.

First non-default keyboard I got was Microsoft Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 which I liked a lot. At that time I didn't understand all the hype about mechanical keyboards and laughed at their default key layout... until I borrowed SteelSeries 6Gv2 (Cherry MX Black) from a coworker. For two days I spent coding on it I was absolutely blown away. And then it all started.

I've spent months on forums reading about various kinds of mechanical keyboards until I decided which one I want - Filco Majestouch2 Cherry MX Brown. I liked it a lot and used it for 2 or 3 years. For all that time I felt that something is not perfect about my keyboard and it kept growing on me - I started to get annoyed by the feeling of Cherry MX's spring metallic traction with other pieces of the switch. One day I remembered about the other type of switches - Topre.

Few months later after, again, reading a lot of forum posts and Amazon buyers' reviews I decided on my next keyboard - Realforce 104U. I loved the typing feeling, but the form factor was too big and clumsy for me. A few month later I decided to continue my search for the perfect keyboard. And I remembered how one of the reviewers referred to HHKB's typing sound as "thock-thock" and compared it to the pleasant sound of closing the door of BMW car compared to some other Japanese make. That convinced me to try HHKB. (Oh, the irony. HHKB is made in Japan, and Cherry switches - in Germany. ;D)