Author Topic: Been Lurkin...  (Read 1609 times)

Offline Calmfixup

Been Lurkin...
« on: Fri, 19 August 2016, 15:16:11 »
*Doctor Nick voice*
HELLO EVERYBODY

Been lurking around these forums since I discovered them back in January; figured it's about time I just jump on in.

Funny story. I'm a musician (among other things) and I've always been obsessed with clicking noises. Love em. Always have.
Used to pull out my grandmother's typewriter as a kid to write stories on - would sit around and watch Star Wars with an old Toshiba TX1200XE sitting in my lap, typing on it as Chewie and Han flew the Falcon just to hear the sounds it made. Weird obsession, I know.

Fast forward 20 years to when I buy a Razer Blackwidow Chroma - the newer ones with the clone switches. On my first keystroke I'M IN LOVE...I'm instantly transported back to my childhood with the familiar clicks...it's what I've been missing! Am I playing Oregon Trail in '92? Did I just die of dysentery? I'm obsessed again. Every friend who comes over I'm like "Hear that? *clack clack* Doesn't that sound wonderful?"

Many confused looks later, whilst looking for new keycaps, I discover r/MechanicalKeyboards and GeekHack and realize that i'm not alone! There's a whole community of people who nerd out just like I do over these awesome input devices :)

Still haven't bought another keyboard yet (built a very expensive PC for my geeky needs so I'm broke as hell), although I'm planning on getting a Pok3r RGB and a Ducky Shine 5 (did I mention I also love colors?). Also just took part in my first Group Buy via Massdrop to get those delicious Amazing Chocolatier (props to Zambumon for that absolutely fantastic looking SA set /drool)...and now my watch begins.

Well if you read all that, thanks lol.

Hello to you all!
« Last Edit: Fri, 19 August 2016, 17:07:38 by Calmfixup »

Offline switchnollie

• sleever supreme
  • * Exquisite Elder
  • greyhat co-leader
Re: Been Lurkin...