Author Topic: Replaceing mouse buttons  (Read 11801 times)

Offline jcoffin1981

Replaceing mouse buttons
« on: Tue, 06 April 2021, 22:12:00 »
Has anyone done this? I'm not an expert at soldering, but I've gotten really fast at soldering and de-soldering surface mount components, including LED's.  With that said, I had a bi$%h of a time replacing a mouse button.  The PCB holes are small and the pins are really wide.  I tried about 15-20 times and could not clear all the solder.  The wet solder almost has surface tension and it sticks to the pin and the pad, but they are so close that it clings to both of them.  Ultimately I broke the switch off, heated each pin and pulled them out individually. 

The mouse is a no longer made Roccat Kone XTD.  I want to replace the other buttons, but don't even want to mess with it anymore as the mouse is essentially irreplaceable.  I'm sure there is a technique that I am just missing. 
KPB V60 Gateron Browns and Leopold Keycaps.  Poker 3 with Gateron Browns and Poker keycaps.  Poker 3 with Cherry MX Browns, ABS keycaps and white LED's.

Leopold FC660M- my new favorite, right out of the box.

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
Re: Replaceing mouse buttons
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 07 April 2021, 00:47:43 »
Many of us have done it a few times... I destroy the switches about once a year.
https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=81743.0
Certain mice are easier than others. a G700 for example is a ******* nightmare while the most difficult part of a G900 or 903 is removing the teflon pads or finding all the necessary screws.