Author Topic: Bonjour to everyone !  (Read 2990 times)

Offline _user

Bonjour to everyone !
« on: Sat, 09 May 2020, 05:13:22 »
Hello there !

I was looking for some help in corsair forum to find how to switch my azerty K70 keyboard to a classic us one and I come across a post from "Inheritance" of the Beta Corsair Teams who highly recommanded to take a look here to find a solution ! Idk if he still here but thanks to him to make me discover this community !
 IRL, I'm a cybersecurity student actually interested by reverse-engineering technics and IoT safety, otherwise I love customize my equipments and I'm commit to protect our privacy's rights as much as I can.

I'm so excited to make some friends and learn some stuff, btw if u have an idea to figure out how to switch my k70, where can I buy some goods button if needed, don't hesitate to notify me ! :D

Feel free to come exchange with me about anything ! ;)

Offline suicidal_orange

• * Global Moderator
Re: Bonjour to everyone !
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 09 May 2020, 05:46:00 »
Welcome to geekhack :)

Are you trying to convert an ISO board (big enter key) to an ANSI one (wide enter key)?  That will be very hard as the plate that holds the switches probably doesn't have holes for it.  You could use ISO-US but I don't think a USB to USB converter would work with the extra power needed for RGB and it's a bit overkill to fix two keys.  You could desolder the switch pins of the extra key next to enter and isolate the pads then solder short jumpers to the pads for ANSI \| which should be there.  Not sure what it would do with the extra key next to left shift though...  Or if the board is only used in one place you could remap it in software?

Basically there isn't much difference between a US and AZERTY keyboard, it's the operating system that converts keys into letters and symbols in your chosen layout.

If anything sounds good or if I'm answering the wrong question please let me know!
120/100g linear Zealio R1