Author Topic: Full-size ortholinear layout  (Read 5534 times)

Offline andred

Full-size ortholinear layout
« on: Sat, 28 November 2020, 18:09:46 »
I've been thinking about this full-size ortho layout.

256648-0

keyboard-layout-editor.com permalink

What I like about it:

• The center 10-key puts nice ergonomic distance between the left and right hands.
  • The key conservation with the number row 7/8/9 overlapping the number pad puts a smile on my face.
  • Similarly, the hyphen/underscore key and the numpad minus key are coalesced in a natural location.
  • Things are more or less where you would expect them to be if you are used to a full-size standard keyboard.

Have you tried a layout like this before? I'm eager for feedback before I commit to this project.

I'm new to orthos and custom keyboards. I think this could be built with BFO-9000, but frankly I'm not sure. Any suggestions are welcome. Thank you.

Offline kajahtaa

Re: Full-size ortholinear layout
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 28 November 2020, 20:44:06 »
Seems cool.

You should make it.... with crazy bezels

Offline tp4tissue

• * Destiny Supporter
  • OmniExpert of: Rice, Top-Ramen, Ergodox, n Females
« Reply #2 on: Sun, 29 November 2020, 13:56:39 »
The layout really should be as wide as possible for the main letter keys.  All that right hand stuff would work just as well in the middle.

Offline suicidal_orange

• * Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: Sun, 29 November 2020, 15:37:23 »
This is going to depend a lot on what you want to do on the board but you asked for feedback so here's mine - it looks great but I couldn't live with ( ) - and = being in weird places while typing (- two rows up especially) and having Caps Lock on such an accessible key is just silly.  Personally my Caps is Backspace as I mainly type (stolen from Colemak), other people prefer it as Control (as on HHKB and old UNIX boards)