Author Topic: Aluminum Keycaps  (Read 18899 times)

Offline Playtrumpet

Aluminum Keycaps
« on: Sun, 16 October 2011, 20:56:39 »
So, I've recently experienced a spike of interest in Aluminum Cherry MX keycaps. I searched around and found some info here and there, but I have specific questions I know you experts can help answer. For now, assume I have no reliable knowledge on aluminum keycaps.

I am interested in plain (no characters, and no color or sculpted customization), long-lasting, NON-shiny aluminum keycaps. What am I looking for? Brushed, sanded, anodized? Is sandblasted the best way to go? Am I wrong in assuming they will last (stay in their original condition) longer than any and all plastic keys I may ever get? And of course most importantly, WHERE/from whom can I buy them?*

Thank you for your help.

*Not looking for a full keyboard worth of keys - just 2 for a specific row.
« Last Edit: Sun, 16 October 2011, 21:00:15 by Playtrumpet »
Dvorak

Offline whiskerBox

Aluminum Keycaps
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 16 October 2011, 23:24:37 »
Quote from: ripster;432560
See the Key Ref Wiki under Scarface.

You cant get those anymore. right?

I was recently on this search myself and I found more Titanium Key Caps then aluminum. Although there is this Space Bar but you better have some deep pockets.

please post if you find anything good, I am still interested in getting a couple for the func row myself
"I'm on a mission to bring down GH's anarchy of moderators" -RIPSTER jr.

Offline dorkvader

• all about the "hack" in "geekhack"
Aluminum Keycaps
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 17 October 2011, 07:50:14 »
From what I know of Aluminium, you should probably get it clear- anodized (or colour if you prefer). This should help prevent corrosion (and probably wear) from your fingers.

Hmm, I wonder if I design it, if I can get SP to use their injection moulding machine for a metal or ceramic powder injection moulding process...

If so, you'd be able to get a doubleshot metal keycap.