Author Topic: Split Ortholinear Keyboard  (Read 5307 times)

Offline layornos

Split Ortholinear Keyboard
« on: Sun, 31 July 2016, 05:34:40 »
Dear Geekhack-Community,

i am trying to design a ortholinear split keyboard, 5x6 switches per side.

Inspired by the ErgoDox, i want to hold the costs as low as possible by creating a PCB that can be used for both sides.
Now my problem: I have no experience in creating PCBs and i am to not sure if i am on the right way:

144232-0
144234-1
144236-2

Update 1 31.07.2016
I have added a crystal, two capacitors and i removed the unused track in the top left corner.

Update 2 01.08.2016_1620
Added Status LEDs, Diode between UVCC and PIN1, conneced remaining VCCs and GNDs.

Update 3 03.08.2016
Changed footprints and the layout of the pcb. What tracks should the jumpers connect to make this pcb switchable?

Greetings
« Last Edit: Wed, 03 August 2016, 16:06:24 by layornos »

Offline suicidal_orange

• * Global Moderator
Re: Split Ortholinear Keyboard
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 31 July 2016, 06:22:50 »
Welcome to GH :)

This is a solid start, really easy to see what's going on which is great for debugging.

I'm no expert on PCB design but I can see a floating trace in the top left corner, should it be going somewhere?

I can say that the switch matrix part looks good, you just need to smooth out the remaining 90 degree bends on the columns.  There are three inconsistencies on the bottom row which won't be a problem, but they have triggered my OCD :))
120/100g linear Zealio R1  
GMK Hyperfuse
'Split everything' perfection  
MX Clear
SA Hack'd by Geeks     
EasyAVR mod

Offline xondat

• i'm not a star
  • * Maker
« Reply #2 on: Sun, 31 July 2016, 06:50:33 »
I don't know much about PCB design but this makes it make sense to be, very clean. Do you know what you're doing for the case yet?

Offline spindle

« Reply #3 on: Sun, 31 July 2016, 07:39:35 »