Author Topic: Trying to find a good TKL alternative to the compact Apple Wireless Keyboard  (Read 6581 times)

Offline bastones

Hi folks,

I have a TKL Apple wireless keyboard - the scissor switch kind - or rather what Apple likes to call "Butterfly switches," whatever that means. I have to admit I do find I type the quickest on these types of keyboards with the least amount of mistakes so I do like it a lot, but the problem is the up and down arrow keys are an absolute joke - they are half the size of the left and right arrow keys. As a developer I have to use these pathetically small arrows keys a lot and I mis-hit them more often than I can deal with. I'm a touch typist so I'm not prepared to look down at my keyboard each time just to use them! :(

Here's my dilemma: I know Apple sell an extended keyboard with full-size arrow keys (at an extortionate price might I add), but I can't use them because all full-size keyboards are just far too wide. I have to use an ergonomic mouse and I need to keep it as close to me as possible to keep things comfortable. This is why a TKL layout is the only option for me when it comes to computer use. I don't find 60% boards easy to type on either - so really, I can only consider tenkeyless layouts or smaller, as long as the keys are otherwise full size.

As implied, I use a Mac but I'm pragmatic about the keyboard choice - if the right one for me happens to have a Windows key, so be it. I don't mind.

I have been searching for months for a good alternative and I've hit a serious brick-wall. All the keyboards I have tried - mostly scissor-switch variants - are just horrendous. I'm yet to find a keyboard that doesn't either have a terrible key feel or non-spacious key layouts. I think the reason I can type so fast on the Apple keyboard with such high accuracy is because the keys are flat and allow me to quickly slide between each key.