Author Topic: Issues using Soarer's converter for XT Model F  (Read 2258 times)

Offline InvidiousIgnoramus

Issues using Soarer's converter for XT Model F
« on: Thu, 05 October 2017, 16:23:39 »
First off, I'd like to apologize if I put this in the wrong area, I'm still very new to GeekHack.

So, my converter cable came in today for my XT that I bought last week, and I immediately set about downloading all necessary software to begin remapping the keys. Unfortunately for some reason unknown to me, the space bar does not register at all. HID Listen doesn't show any signal from the spacebar being received at all.

The board came in near mint condition, with only minor rust on the back plate and disintegrated foam. I have yet to separate the layers to remove the powder dust that is the foam layer, and i'm wondering if perhaps pieces could be interfering with the contact plate?

I'd really hate to have this board not work, everything else about it is perfect. If you guys have any suggestions as to what the issue is, I would greatly appreciate it.

EDIT: well thank goodness that was a relatively easy fix. Opening it up, there was a small bead of something sitting directly below the flipper on the pcb, removed it, spent way too long trying to reassemble the board, and it all worked. I think it's safe to say though, that i no longer feel the desire to replace the foam, haha.
« Last Edit: Sat, 07 October 2017, 09:55:08 by InvidiousIgnoramus »
I long for the day when I find a beamspring. (At a not insane price)

Offline xueyao

Re: Issues using Soarer's converter for XT Model F
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 05 October 2017, 18:43:01 »
Since all keys work, I'm guessing it might be a malfunctioning PCB with a broken trace or simply very dirty. The spring and hammer might also be unseated causing it not to hit the PCB properly. Try taking it apart and cleaning it thoroughly. You can test if the PCB is working properly before putting it back together.

Offline fohat.digs