Author Topic: My name is Minco and I have a mechanical keyboard addiction.  (Read 1462 times)

Offline Minco95

My name is Minco and I have a mechanical keyboard addiction.
« on: Sun, 18 April 2021, 23:21:31 »
Hey folks! First, what a humbling experience touring this forum. I feel like an absolute beginner, and in most ways I still am. I bought my first mechanical keyboard in 2017, thinking I was on the absolute cutting edge with my Vortex Race 3. Then I got the CTRL and the ALT, still thinking I was so far ahead of the curve. I joined the /mk subreddit, mostly for the pictures. I didn't even know about this forum.

After a lot of money and a lot of waiting, I got to a place where I felt pretty satisfied with what I had. But that's all changed now. I went to go buy some switches the other day and on the site, I saw a very nice-looking keyboard. I can't even tell you what it was at this point, because when I saw it was sold out I tried searching for other keyboards like it. Sold out. Then I stumbled on some videos (Taeha Types, KeyBonBon, etc) and realized that I know nothing. I've never known anything. I've been an absolute scrub thinking I was a god. So here I am, humbled, crawling into these forums to seek true enlightenment.

Things have changed quite a lot since I joined the scene. So many more enthusiasts, extremely high-quality builds, and absolutely no stock anywhere. Endgame? How about finding *any* decent kit in stock. I only knew about 3 switch makers before. Now there are at least a dozen or more. So much to take in!

I have at least four builds in mind:
  • Pure typing. Tactile. I'm fine with any board that has arrow keys and super keys since the majority of my typing happens in a mac. I'm not sure how folks actually do things on 60% boards that only have control keys.
  • Pure typing. Clicky, because I like them clicks!
  • Pure typing. Linear, because sometimes I just like a buttery feel.