Author Topic: OLEDs on custom boards  (Read 2580 times)

Offline Tseg

OLEDs on custom boards
« on: Mon, 18 December 2023, 11:58:30 »
While I'm new to custom keyboards, I was pleasantly surprised when getting into this hobby to hear most custom boards don't have massive RGB backlighting.  Now I just watched a review for a soon to be released QK65 v2, and the reviewer made the comment in 2023 and beyond, incorporating a small OLED screen in a custom keyboard is now an expectation (of which the v2 does have).  Maybe I'm just old, but I am not a fan of all the electronic add-ons to custom keyboards, despite my entry into mechanical keyboards by buying a Steel Series with RGB and OLED screen.  The reason being is along with advancing my knowledge and collection of custom boards I have also been working on upping my touch-typing game.  The result is I don't actually look at my board while I'm typing.  Having a bunch electronic accessories on a board I do not look at when I use seems so unnecessary... clutter and a distraction, really.  In summary, I see RGB and OLED as a gimmick and screams, "I'm cheap and have no class!"  I guess to "each their own"... "preferences", and all that jazz.   All those extras just seem like unnecessary plastic cladding on an old Pontiac... or silicone implants (not that there is anything wrong with silicone implants, other than that they can break).    For me and custom keyboards, less is more.   Am I showing my age?  Am I in the minority?

Online Fraaaan

Re: OLEDs on custom boards
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 18 December 2023, 12:37:53 »
It's really all just preference.

I would never buy a keyboard with a knob, for example, but I understand they're very popular and have their place in the hobby.

Offline TomahawkLabs

Re: OLEDs on custom boards
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 18 December 2023, 16:02:33 »