Author Topic: New to soldering  (Read 3238 times)

Offline tgujay

New to soldering
« on: Fri, 24 August 2012, 14:17:06 »
So I am very new to soldering but want to get into it to do some key switch swaps and other things.  I just popped my soldering cherry on fixing my Rosewills mini usb port but there is some residue that I'm not sure what it is.  It doesn't seem to negatively affect anything as my keyboard still works fine but I was just curious what it is.  Maybe I can get rid of it or avoid it in the future?
« Last Edit: Fri, 24 August 2012, 14:18:58 by tgujay »
Gotta collect them all

Offline alaricljs

• I be WOT'ing all day...
  • ** Moderator Emeritus
Re: New to soldering
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 24 August 2012, 14:29:09 »
That should be partially cooked flux.  Use rubbing alcohol, the higher the purity the more effective it will be.
Filco w/ Imsto thick PBT
Ducky 1087XM PCB+Plate, w/ Matias "Quiet Click" spring-swapped w/ XM Greens

Offline tgujay

« Reply #2 on: Fri, 24 August 2012, 14:37:00 »
That should be partially cooked flux.  Use rubbing alcohol, the higher the purity the more effective it will be.
Thank you! I will try that.
Gotta collect them all

Offline tgujay

« Reply #3 on: Fri, 24 August 2012, 14:37:40 »
Does my soldering on the USB port look ok?
Gotta collect them all

Offline tgujay

« Reply #4 on: Fri, 24 August 2012, 14:51:43 »
It worked! Thanks so much alaricljs!
Gotta collect them all

Offline SmallFry

• ** Moderator Emeritus
  • Leaving 6/15; returning 6/22 or so.
« Reply #5 on: Fri, 24 August 2012, 15:22:53 »
The joints look a little close. You may want to take a multimeter to them before you fire it up. Also, to practice I've heard that old alarm clocks/junked electronics are good to practice desoldering and resoldering the solder joints. I learned since my dad is an electrical engineer, so I get to use his iron. Nice piece of equipment that I get to use. :)

Offline alaricljs

• ** Moderator Emeritus