Author Topic: Are there any RGB boards without visible PWM flicker?  (Read 3617 times)

Offline jasonrohrer

Are there any RGB boards without visible PWM flicker?
« on: Tue, 10 September 2019, 15:34:09 »
I'm a video game designer/programmer.

I recently showed my game at PAX West 2019.

For my booth, I wanted to get some nice mechanical keyboards with customizable RGB lighting.  The idea was to highlight the keys that were used in the game, and make the other, non-used keys dark, so that visitors to my booth would know which keys to press when trying the game for the first time.

I bought three Ducky One2 RGB keyboards.  I was amazed by the build quality.  But the RGB back-lighting was absolute garbage, with 100 Hz PWM.  This flickers constantly in your peripheral vision or when you turn your head.  Even worse, different parts of the board (vertical sections of keys) have different PWM phases, so the flicker isn't even constant across the board, but really makes a visual jumble in the periphery.  For example, the left half of the space bar flickers out of phase with the right half.

Waving the keyboard in the air produces a visible strobe effect, as captured by a 1/30 sec camera exposure here (where you can see the halves of the spacebar being out of phase---right half has 4 pulses while the left half has 3 pulses in between):

Anyway, I was heartbroken and disappointed.  I had no idea that this would be an issue with a high-quality keyboard.  I ended up turning the RGB off for my booth and installing some colored keycaps to mark the useful keys.  This works, but isn't as flexible as RGB coloring for marking keys.