Author Topic: My new keyboard layout - Kaehi  (Read 10772 times)

Offline Elliot George

• elliotgeorge.net
My new keyboard layout - Kaehi
« on: Wed, 21 November 2018, 23:33:52 »
Hey all, for a few months now I have been working on a new keyboard layout, and it’s finally complete! I got sucked into the layout wormhole after I started learning Colemak and just wasn’t finding it comfortable. To find this layout I created a scoring system that favoured movements I found to be comfortable, and used randomisation and a simple genetic algorithm to find high scoring layouts. There was also a long period of trialing and tweaking to get it just right.

The qualities I considered important are - low single finger bigrams (of course), a high inwards roll : outwards roll ratio (I don't like outwards rolls that much), avoiding particularly bad rolls like pinky -> middle finger and keeping particularly good rolls such as adjacent finger rolls and pinky -> index finger rolls. Low travel distance was favoured, but not too highly - it's trivial to beat qwerty by almost 50% on this metric, but it's not worth a lot of attention due to diminishing returns.

and for comparison,
Colemak -

and QWERTY -

Patrick Gillespie's popular web based analyser rates my layout pretty highly -

I've been using this layout full time for almost two months. I wrote a detailed article on my blog about the process of creating this layout for those interested - https://elliotgeorge.net/2018/11/22/the-kaehi-keyboard-layout/

Offline stevep

• Colemak Mod-DH
Re: My new keyboard layout - Kaehi
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 22 November 2018, 10:02:54 »
Ah what fun, another Colemak variant! I can see the logic behind most of your choices, and I see you prefer to have all your vowels together (almost Dvorak style!).