Author Topic: Novelty Cherry MX keycap profile...  (Read 4929 times)

Offline 00zeRO

• mechanicalkeyboards.com
  • * Commercial Vendor
  • The 00verseer of Vault 77
    • Mechanical Keyboards
Novelty Cherry MX keycap profile...
« on: Mon, 08 September 2014, 15:12:05 »
So, being that I am a keycap design newb, can everyone weigh in on keycap preferences when considering profile of a novelty keycap? Keep in mind I am asking in regards to SA, DSA, or DCS/Cherry/OEM profiles and Row heights.
« Last Edit: Mon, 08 September 2014, 15:17:24 by 00zeRO »
Daily Driver: Typist A w/Midnight Dawn | Kailh BOX Clicks

Junktown 2: Now on eBay!

Offline esoomenona

• Gnillort?
Re: Novelty keycap profile...
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 08 September 2014, 15:13:43 »
Cherry Topre

And throw in some buckling spring.

Offline 00zeRO

• * Commercial Vendor
    • Mechanical Keyboards
Re: Novelty keycap profile...
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 08 September 2014, 15:19:03 »
Cherry Topre

And throw in some buckling spring.

Wha-?

:eek:

Key-cap, not key-switch...I amended the title to narrow down to Cherry MX... :))

Offline esoomenona

• Gnillort?
Re: Novelty Cherry MX keycap profile...
« Reply #3 on: Mon, 08 September 2014, 15:28:00 »
Well, I mean, if you're ONLY doing the worst switch, go for Cherry profile.

But Topre and BS are better.

Offline spookymikal

« Reply #4 on: Mon, 08 September 2014, 16:16:22 »

Better at what exactly?

My cherry MX blacks are better at typing quietly.

Offline 00zeRO

• * Commercial Vendor
    • Mechanical Keyboards
« Reply #5 on: Mon, 08 September 2014, 16:36:39 »

Best profile, as in most popular...

Topper, I mean Topre thread crapping not allowed. I am just trying to come up with an idea of the most popular all around profile and row height in which to begin my mass generating of keycaps that will appeal to most, not all, people. Least of all, Topre fanboys who like to thread crap on a thread that I want genuine feed back on. I want the rule, not the exception esoom.'