Author Topic: 8 months in. Hello!  (Read 2027 times)

Offline networkdrift

8 months in. Hello!
« on: Sun, 14 August 2016, 22:45:24 »
Hi there. In January I bought a KUL ES-87 with Cherry MX Clear switches. I really loved it. I managed to stay away from the craziness of mechanical keyboards until around July when I decided to buy a new keycap set for it - since then, it's just gone terribly down hill.

Currently my collection looks like this:
KUL ES-87 (Cherry MX Clears), Tai-Hao Purple keycap set
Leopold FC660M (Cherry MX Browns), just bought some simple gray PBT keycaps (2 sets so I could get the right shift keys) from geek keys
Corsair K70 (Cherry MX Browns) - bought for gaming but might get rid of it
I joined the Varmilo VA68M drop on Massdrop, so that will be on the way.

I also have some artisans in the mail.

My wallet hurts but I love making keyboards look pretty. My friends think I'm weird though! ;)

I'm a comp sci student in college so I get lots of use out of my keyboards. This is how I justify it.

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
Re: 8 months in. Hello!
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 16 August 2016, 06:00:14 »
Welcome to Geekhack!

Another KUL success story.

And another MX clear lover ;D

Does your KUL ping much?  I have a CODE with clears, and everyone was saying how badly they ping, but mine doesn't.

Have you tried any linear switches?  Like reds or blacks?
"Because keyboards are accessories to PC makers, they focus on minimizing the manufacturing costs. But that’s incorrect. It’s in HHKB’s slogan, but when America’s cowboys were in the middle of a trip and their horse died, they would leave the horse there. But even if they were in the middle of a desert, they would take their saddle with them. The horse was a consumable good, but the saddle was an interface that their bodies had gotten used to. In the same vein, PCs are consumable goods, while keyboards are important interfaces." - Eiiti Wada